What Should I Tell the Insurance Company About My Car Accident?
When you’re in an auto accident, you must be careful about what you say to an insurance company and how you say it. They will quickly take what you say and use it against you in an attempt to lay fault at your feet and avoid paying what they owe.
In most cases, it’s best to let a Houston auto wreck lawyer from Denena Points, PC handle the communication and negotiate with the insurance for you.
In most traffic accidents, the other driver will have insurance and you will have to deal with this company in order to receive financial compensation. Negotiating a fair settlement with an insurance company is very difficult, especially if they refuse to acknowledge all of your expenses and losses.
If you try to represent yourself and go without an attorney, they will see you as an easy target and lowball their initial settlement offer, especially if you already made a statement before consulting with a lawyer. They may be able to twist this to their advantage and use your words out of context against you.
Underinsured and Uninsured Drivers
In the event that the other driver has no insurance or is underinsured, your insurance company must fill in the compensation gaps as long as you have the appropriate coverage on your policy. In this situation, you may have to take on your own insurance company, who will also try to lowball and minimize their contribution to your compensation.
To be brutally clear, your insurance company is not interested in helping you. They only care about their bottom line. In order to avoid being taken advantage of, you need to discuss what to say and how to say it with your lawyer first.
Shared Fault and Diminished Compensation
The other driver’s insurance company will try to use anything you’ve said against you to place fault on your shoulders. They do this in order to take advantage of Texas’ comparative fault law. Texas uses a modified comparative fault policy to determine the right of a victim to sue for damages.
If you are no more than 49 percent at fault, then you can file a claim for compensation, but it will be reduced by the same percentage. If you are awarded $100,000 and are found to be 10 percent at fault, you will only receive $90,000.
If your own insurance is called upon to pay anything, they will try to mitigate their losses in different ways. They will try to lowball you by not helping you figure out the full value of your claim and by getting you to settle before you can get an attorney and realize just how much your expenses are going to be.
Free Consultation with a Houston Auto Wreck Attorney
If you have been injured in an accident are worried about the possibility of being undercompensated by an insurance company, speak with an experienced car accident attorney to protect your rights. Always consult with your own attorney before saying anything at all to an insurance company—even your own.
A Houston car accident lawyer from Denena Points, PC will work with you, your doctors, and the insurance companies to handle your case. Call us now at 713-766-1163 or fill out the form below to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation.