Houston Personal Injury FAQs • DENENA | POINTS

Don't let your personal injury destroy your life and finances. Get the settlement that pays for your recovery.

$3.5M

SETTLEMENT

MARITIME DEATH

$1M

SETTLEMENT

Workplace Injury

$2.7M

SETTLEMENT

Wrongful Death

$200K

SETTLEMENT

Motorcycle Accident

$150K

SETTLEMENT

Head-on Collision

$167K

SETTLEMENT

Seas Part Collision

$160K

SETTLEMENT

Side Impact Collision

$1.25M

SETTLEMENT

Carnival Injury

Houston Personal Injury Frequently Asked Questions

Suffering a serious injury in an accident can be a devastating experience for all involved. The pain, medical bills, and loss of work can be difficult for both you and your family. You probably have many questions and are wondering how to navigate the legal system and hire the right lawyers who will gather evidence and witnesses so that you can recover damages for your injuries.

To help with some of your concerns, we have compiled a list of answers to many of the most common Houston personal injury frequently asked questions.

What is the statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Texas?

Under the Texas statute of limitations for personal injury cases, you have two years from the date of your injury to file a personal injury lawsuit in the state’s civil court system. Your right to compensation will be lost if you do not file your lawsuit within the two-year timeframe.

What if I can’t afford an attorney?

Most injury victims cannot afford to pay an attorney an hourly rate. For personal injury cases, your lawyer works on a contingency fee basis and only charges you if you win your case and damages are recovered. If there is no recovery, there is no fee.

What can I get compensated for after a personal injury in Texas?

Compensation depends on the type of case and the damages that were suffered. When recovering compensation for your injuries, you can recover damages for past and future medical expenses, lost wages and future earning potential, pain and suffering, emotional distress, and decreased quality of life due to the injury.

Should I accept the insurance company’s initial offer?

No, you should not accept the initial offer from the insurance company. Insurance companies do not have your best interests at heart. They are in the business of making money and keeping their bottom line secure. It is always best to speak with a personal injury lawyer before signing any documents or settling with insurance companies. We will protect your right to obtain the maximum compensation possible.

How does comparative fault work in Texas?

Texas uses the 51 percent modified comparative fault rule. In a personal injury claim, the percentage of fault each party has will be determined. If you were 49 percent or less responsible for the accident, you can receive compensation. If you were 51 percent at fault for your accident, your claim can be denied.

Ask More Questions of a Houston Personal Injury Attorney

If you or a family member were injured in an accident, the Houston personal injury lawyers of Denena Points, PC are here to answer all of your questions. Dedicated and committed to obtaining the compensation you deserve, we will aggressively fight for your rights.

To get started with your case, contact us online through the form below or call 713-807-9500 to set up a no-obligation, completely free consultation today.