Posted on Mar 05, 2013
Westbound lanes of U.S. 290 at Antoine Drive were closed down by authorities until around 9 a.m. due to a fatal accident that occurred about 3:30 Tuesday morning. Some reports say that at least two vehicles were involved in the accident that caused one driver to veer off the shoulder of the highway, and then back onto U.S. 290 to hit a concrete barrier. His SUV spun around after the impact with the concrete barrier and ejected the driver from the SUV.
Accident investigators indicated that the man was then run over by other vehicles as he lay in the roadway, but none of those drivers stopped to render aid. The man died at the scene of the tragic, fatal accident. (Source: click2houston.com, and KTRK abc13.com, 3/5/13)
The Pearland wrongful death attorneys at Denena Points, PC express their sincere condolences to the family and friends of the man who died in this tragic hit-and-run accident on U.S. 290.
Seeking Information on the Hit-and-Run Drivers that fled the Scene of this Tragic, Fatal Accident on U.S. 290 at Antoine: Contact Us Anytime with Information
If you have any information on the drivers that helped cause this fatal wreck or that fled the scene after running over the victim, kindly contact our Pearland wrongful death attorneys at Denena Points, PC. We dedicate our professional lives to finding justice for victims of hit-and-run drivers and to the effort of making our streets and highways safer. If you have important information that would help in these efforts, we ask you to contact us to report it today. You can reach us direct at 281-369-4363 or anytime through our online contact form. Thank you.
Hit-and-Run Driving is a Serious Offense in Texas
Texas law requires that drivers who accidentally hit a victim stop to render aid. Section 550.021 of the Texas code says that when a driver has hit someone and caused serious bodily injury or death, the driver must stop at the scene of the accident. If the driver does not stop, the offense becomes a 3rd degree felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Our Pearland wrongful death attorneys caution you to not turn an accident into a 3rd degree felony. If you’re involved in a hit-and-run accident, stay at the scene to help authorities understand what happened.